Canadian Ski Hall of Fame Inductees

The Canadian Ski Museum created the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame in 1982, which was then known as the Honor Roll of Canadian Skiing. The sole purpose of the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame is to bring recognition and tribute to the members of the skiing community who have shown their dedication to the sport in various ways. Achievement in the sport of skiing, as well as leadership and developmental skills, are all scrutinized so that everyone, from snowboarders and skiers to organizers and coaches, stand a chance to be celebrated in the pages of skiing history.

Every year, the Canadian Ski Museum inducts a number of people into the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame, and legendary people such as Anne Heggtveit, Laurie Graham, Nancy Green, Don Lyon, Ken Read, Lucile Wheeler and Dave Irwin have all been honored. This year, four more names will be joining them, namely Greg Athans, Jean-Luc Brassard, Davy Pym and Melanie Turgeon.

Melanie Turgeon retired from competitive skiing in 2005, but will always be remembered as one of the skiing greats. As a member of the Canadian Alpine Ski Team from the year 1992 to her retirement, she enjoyed eight podium finishes at World Cup events, won medals in all five alpine skiing disciplines in 1994, was named Alpine Canada’s Female Athlete of the Year in 2003 and put a hundred and forty seven FIS races behind her name. But her magnificence on the slopes stretched past the competitions and medals. She would often take the time to assist younger skiers and has become an inspiration to many.

Greg Athans on the other hand was not only a professional skier, but a pioneer. He is one of those responsible for introducing Freestyle skiing to Canada and could be seen on the slopes between 1976 and 1982. On retirement, he had more than twenty World Cup titles to his name and is also the only Canadian athlete to have won gold medals at the Summer Canada and Winter Canada Games. In 2006, Greg Athans passed away, but his spirit can still be felt on every slope in Canada.

As an organizer and volunteer, Dave Pym could be found at every skiing event from club level to the Olympic Winter Games, over the last forty years. He is currently the Managing Director of the Canadian SnowSports Association, a position he took on in 2002, but has assisted in the shaping of skiing in Canada through his dedication and selfless commitment to the sport.

Jean-Luc Brassard, now a ski commentator and mentor to young skiers, was a Canadian sensation during his time as a skier. In his career he won twenty gold medals, thirteen silver medals and fourteen bronze medals. He is a four-time gold medal Olympian and won the first gold medal for Canada at the Olympic Games, for skiing. As a remarkable athlete, for taking skiing to a new level and being a brilliant sporting ambassador for his country, his efforts did not go unnoticed by the Canadian Ski Museum.

As the latest inductees to the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame, Jean-Luc Brassard, Dave Pym, Melanie Turgeon and Greg Athans have secured their place in the skiing history of Canada. They will always be remembered and admired for their achievements and invaluable contributions to the sport of skiing.